Nelson Mandela

President Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

2007 Honorary Laureate

Citation & Achievements

Nelson Mandela was inaugurated as South Africa’s first democratically elected President on 10 May 1994. He went on to form a Government of National Unity, before stepping down in 1999 after one term of office.

Nelson Mandela is recognised throughout the world as an exceptional leader. He dedicated himself to the struggle against apartheid in South Africa, at great personal sacrifice, culminating in the country’s first democratic elections on 27 April 1994.

Useful links

Highlights – timeline

Choose a date from the timeline below for more detail

A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination
Nelson Mandela

Life after National Office

After leaving office, President Mandela worked to promote democracy, equality and development across the world. He established three foundations to pursue these goals: The Nelson Mandela Foundation, The Nelson Mandela Children’s Fund and The Mandela-Rhodes Foundation. In 2007, President Mandela was awarded an honorary Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

Sign up to enews