

Mo Ibrahim Foundation Welcomes New Members to its Council and Prize Committee

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of new members to its Council and independent Prize Committee for the Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

New members joining both the Council and the Prize Committee:

- H.E. Josep Borrell Former High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Commission (2019-2024), former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain, European Union and Cooperation (2018-2019), former President of the European Parliament (2004-2007)
- **H.E. Moussa Faki Mahamat** Former Chair of the African Union Commission, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Chad (2008-2017), former Prime Minister of Chad (2003-2005)

New Members Joining the Council:

- Lord Mark Malloch-Brown Former President of Open Society Foundations (2021-2024), former UK Minister of State for Africa (2007-2009), former Administrator of UNDP (1999-2005)
- **H.E. Macky Sall** Former President of Senegal (2012-2024), former Chairperson of ECOWAS (2015-2016) and former Chairperson of the African Union (2022-2023).

Mo Ibrahim stated: "We are excited to welcome Josep Borrell, Moussa Faki Mahamat, Mark Malloch-Brown and Macky Sall to the Foundation. Each of them brings a wealth of experience. I look forward to collaborating closely with them as we address some of the most pressing challenges facing Africa and the world today."

About the Council

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation Council, chaired by Dr Mo Ibrahim, consists of eminent leaders from governments, multilateral organisations, academia, and the private sector - both African and global - who support the Foundation in an unpaid advisory role.

Council members bring their extensive experience to support the Foundation in its mission to strengthen the African voice on global challenges.

The Council members are: Mo Ibrahim - chair, Masood Ahmed, Valerie Amos, Zeinab Badawi, Josep Borrell, Jin-Yong Cai, Nathalie Delapalme, Moussa Faki Mahamat, Jendayi Frazer, Tsega Gebreyes, Arancha Gonzalez, Abdalla Hamdok, Hosh Ibrahim, Abdoulie Janneh, Donald Kaberuka, Pascal Lamy, Graça Machel, Mark Malloch-Brown, Ibrahim Mayaki, Yemi Osinbajo, Paul Polman, Mary Robinson, Macky Sall, Vera Songwe.

About the Prize Committee

The Prize Committee is an independent group that selects the Laureate of the Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, a founding initiative of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation. The Prize is awarded to former African Heads of State who demonstrated excellence in leading their country among the multiple challenges to be addressed, so they can continue to provide their expertise and wisdom for the benefit of their continent after the end of their national mandate.

The Prize Committee members are: Festus Mogae - chair, Aïcha Bah Diallo, Josep Borrell, Mohamed ElBaradei, Moussa Faki Mahamat, Graça Machel, Mary Robinson, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.