Ibrahim Prize

recognising and celebrating excellence in African leadership

Timeline

MO IBRAHIM FOUNDATION

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012



President Joaquim Chissano

Mozambique

President Chissano received the inaugural Ibrahim Prize for his achievements in bringing peace, reconciliation, stable democracy and economic progress to Mozambique following the civil war.



President Festus Mogae

Botswana

President Mogae was awarded the second Ibrahim Prize for his role in maintaining and consolidating Botswana's stability and prosperity in the face of an HIV/AIDS pandemic which threatened the future of his country and people.



President Pedro Pires

Cabo Verde

President Pires was awarded the 2011 Ibrahim Prize for his role in transforming Cabo Verde into a model of democracy, stability and increased prosperity.



Honorary

President Nelson Mandela

South Africa

President Mandela is recognised throughout the world as one of the most exceptional leaders of our time. During a life of personal sacrifice, he dedicated himself to the struggle against apartheid in South Africa, and served as that country's first president.



2020 2017 2014 2019 2018 2016 2015 2013



President Mahamadou Issoufou

Niger

President Issoufou was awarded the 2020 Ibrahim Prize for leading his people on a path of progress in the face of the most severe political and economic issues, including violent extremism and increasing desertification.



President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Liberia

President Sirleaf was awarded the 2017 Ibrahim Prize for her exceptional and transformative leadership, in the face of unprecedented and renewed challenges, to lead Liberia's recovery following many years of devastating civil war.



President Hifikepunye Pohamba

Namibia

President Pohamba was awarded the 2014 Ibrahim Prize for his role in forging national cohesion and reconciliation at a key stage of Namibia's consolidation of democracy and economic development.