

Monday 14<sup>th</sup> October 2013

# No winner of the 2013 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation's independent Prize Committee has decided not to award this year's 2013 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

The Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership is the largest prize in the world, worth an annual US\$5 million over 10 years and US\$200,000 annually for life thereafter.

To win the Prize, Laureates must fulfill the following criteria: be a democratically elected former African Head of State or Government who has left office in the previous three years; have served her/his constitutionally mandated term; and have demonstrated excellence in office, helping to lift people out of poverty and paving the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity.

The Prize was established in 2007 by Mo Ibrahim, Founder and Chair of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, to celebrate excellence in African leadership and to provide Laureates with the opportunity to pursue their commitment to the African continent once they have stepped down from office.

It is judged by an independent <u>Prize Committee</u> composed of seven eminent figures, including two Nobel Laureates.

<u>Previous winners of the Ibrahim Prize</u> include: President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), President Pedro Pires of Cape Verde (2011) and President Nelson Mandela of South Africa (Honorary).

Salim Ahmed Salim, Former Secretary-General of the Organisation of African Unity, Former Prime Minister of Tanzania and Chair of the Prize Committee, said:

"This Prize honours Former Heads of State or Government, who, during their mandate, have demonstrated excellence in leading their country, and by doing so, serve as role models for the next generation."

"After careful consideration, the Prize Committee has determined not to award the 2013 Prize for Excellence in Leadership."

####



## Notes to editors

To request an interview, or to ask about broadcast footage of the 2013 Ibrahim Prize announcement, please contact:

- Francisca Souto de Moura, <u>francisca.sdm@portland-communications.com</u>, +44 (0) 20 7842 0148, +44 (0) 7534980359
- Janet Sebastian, <u>sebastian.j@moibrahimfoundation.org</u>, +44 (0) 20 7535 5088, +44 (0) 7817723720

The press conference will be streamed live on the Foundation's website at 10am BST, where journalists, civil society and the general public will also be able to submit live questions. The live stream is accessible here: <a href="http://live.moibrahimfoundation.org">http://live.moibrahimfoundation.org</a>

# The Mo Ibrahim Foundation

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation was established in 2006 with a focus on the critical importance of leadership and governance in Africa. By providing tools to support advancements in leadership and governance, the Foundation aims to bring about meaningful change on the continent.

The Foundation, which is a non-grant making organisation, helps to define, assess and enhance governance and leadership in Africa using the following tools:

- Ibrahim Index of African Governance
- Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership
- Ibrahim Forum
- Ibrahim Fellowships and Scholarships

#### Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Governance

Established in 2007, the Ibrahim Prize celebrates excellence in African leadership. It is awarded to a former Executive Head of State or Government by an independent Prize Committee composed of eminent figures, including two Nobel Laureates.

Information on the Ibrahim Laureates can be found at: <u>http://www.moibrahimfoundation.org/laureates/</u>

The Ibrahim Prize:

- recognises and celebrates African leaders who have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity
- highlights exceptional role models for the continent
- ensures that Africa continues to benefit from the experience and expertise of exceptional leaders when they leave national office, by enabling them to continue in other public roles on the continent

#### Criteria:

- former African Executive Head of State or Government
- left office in the last three years
- democratically elected
- served his/her constitutionally mandated term
- demonstrated exceptional leadership



The Ibrahim Prize is the largest annually awarded prize in the world, consisting of:

- US\$5 million over ten years
- US\$200 000 per year for life thereafter

It is also possible for Ibrahim Laureates to apply for an additional US\$200 000 per year for philanthropic activities.

## Prize Committee

The winner of the Ibrahim Prize is selected by an independent Prize Committee, appointed by the Foundation Board, comprised of:

- Salim Ahmed Salim (Chair) | Former Secretary-General, OAU; Former Prime Minister of Tanzania; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Martti Ahtisaari | Former President of Finland; Nobel Laureate
- Aïcha Bah Diallo | President, Network for Education for All in Africa; Former Minister of Education in Guinea
- Mohamed ElBaradei | Director General Emeritus, International Atomic Energy Agency; Nobel Laureate
- Graça Machel | President, Foundation for Community Development; Former Minister of Education in Mozambique
- Festus Mogae | Chairperson, CoDA; Former President of Botswana; 2008 Ibrahim Prize Laureate
- Mary Robinson | UN Special Envoy for the Great Lakes Region of Africa; Former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights; Former President of Ireland; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member