

# Mo Ibrahim Foundation announces no winner of 2018 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

LONDON, 7 June 2019 - The Mo Ibrahim Foundation announces today that there is no winner of the 2018 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

The announcement was made following deliberations of the independent Prize Committee over the past months.

Commenting on the decision of the Prize Committee, Mo Ibrahim, Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, said: "The Foundation established the Ibrahim Prize to recognise exceptional African leadership, and to encourage a new generation to step up to this critical challenge. Since it was launched in 2006, the independent Prize Committee has always set the bar very high when it comes to awarding the Ibrahim Prize. I respect the decision of the Committee not to award the Prize for 2018 and I am confident there will be further Ibrahim Laureates in the years to come."

The candidates for the Ibrahim Prize are former African executive Heads of State or Government who have left their office during the last three calendar years, having been democratically elected and served their constitutionally mandated term. The previous Laureates are President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia (2017), President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). Nelson Mandela was the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.

The 2018 Ibrahim Leadership Ceremony, which took place in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire on the 5 April 2019 during the Ibrahim Governance Weekend (IGW), was dedicated to the celebration of the legacy of Kofi Annan. As the first Chair of the Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, from 2007 to 2011, Kofi Annan was the embodiment of the values sought when creating the Ibrahim Prize.



#### Contacts

#### For more information, please contact:

- Zainab Umar, umar.z@moibrahimfoundation.org, +44 (0) 20 7535 5068
- MIF media team, mifmedia@portland-communications.com, +44 (0) 20 7554 1743

#### Join the discussion online using the hashtag #MIFPrize

# Learn more about the Mo Ibrahim Foundation:

- Online: http://mo.ibrahim.foundation/
- Twitter: @Mo\_lbrahimFdn
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MolbrahimFoundation
- Instagram: https://instagram.com/moibrahimfoundation
- YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/moibrahimfoundation

### **Notes to Editors**

# The Ibrahim Prize:

- Recognises and celebrates African leaders who, under challenging circumstances, have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity
- Highlights exceptional role models for the continent;
- Ensures that the African continent continues to benefit from the experience and wisdom of exceptional leaders once they have left national office, by enabling them to continue in other public roles on the continent
- Is an award and a standard for excellence in leadership in Africa, and not a 'first prize', there is not necessarily a Laureate every year.

#### Criteria:

- Former African Executive Head of State or Government
- Left office in the last three years
- Democratically elected
- Served his/her constitutionally mandated term
- Demonstrated exceptional leadership
- The Ibrahim Prize is the largest annually awarded prize in the world, consisting of:
  - US\$5 million over ten years

More information on the Ibrahim Prize can be found at: http://mo.ibrahim.foundation/prize/



# Prize Committee:

The winner of the Ibrahim Prize is selected by an independent Prize Committee, appointed by the Foundation Board, comprised of:

- Salim Ahmed Salim (Chair from 2011 to date) | Former Secretary-General, OAU; Former Prime Minister of Tanzania; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Aïcha Bah Diallo | President, Network for Education for All in Africa; Former Minister of Education in Guinea
- Mohamed ElBaradei | Director General Emeritus, International Atomic Energy Agency; Nobel Laureate
- Horst Köhler | Former UNSG Personal Envoy for Western Sahara, Former President of Germany
- Graça Machel | President, Foundation for Community Development; Former Minister of Education in Mozambique; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Festus Mogae | Former President of Botswana; 2008 Ibrahim Prize Laureate
- Mary Robinson | Chair of The Elders; UN Special Envoy for El Nino and Climate; Former UN Special Envoy on the Great Lakes Region of Africa; Former President of Ireland; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member.

More information on the Ibrahim Prize Laureates can be found at: http://mo.ibrahim.foundation/prize/laureates/